Departure Songs

by We Lost The Sea

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $10 AUD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Come in a high quality CD Digipack with original artwork by Matt Harvey

    Includes unlimited streaming of Departure Songs via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $20 AUD or more 




Departure Songs is inspired by failed, yet epic and honourable journeys or events throughout history where people have done extraordinary things for the greater good of those around them, and the progress of the human race itself. Each song has it’s own story and is a soundtrack to that story.

This is our 3rd album and our first instrumental album. We’re exploring new ground and exploring ourselves in the past 2 and a bit years since Chris went on his own journey. It’s slightly bleak with shimmers of hope and layers of emotion. It’s a tribute and a catharsis of emotion and honesty.

Thank you for your support.
releases 23 July 2015

We Lost The Sea are:

Mark Owen – Guitars
Matt Harvey – Guitars
Brendon Warner – Guitars
Kieran Elliott – Bass
Mathew Kelly – Piano, Keyboards
Nathaniel D’Ugo - Drums

We would like to thank Tim Carr, Andrew ‘chad’ Edgson, Mike Solo & Bird’s Robe Records, Dave Cutbush and Life Is Noise, Metropolis Touring, Art As Catharsis, bands we’ve played with from here and abroad, and people who’ve lent us gear. Also our wives, partners, kids, friends, family, fans and anyone who’s helped us along the way.

Recorded and produced by Tim Carr and We Lost The Sea at 301 studios, Sydney.
Engineering and mixing by Tim Carr
Studio assistant: Antonia Gauci
Mastered by Andrew ’chad’ Edgson

All songs written by We Lost The Sea
Choir section composed and arranged by We Lost The Sea and the Mercy College Choir.
Choir on ‘A Gallant Gentleman’ from Mercy College girls high school, Chatswood

Choir members:
Teachers: Kathryn McGreal & Matthew Robertson
Choir: Amelia Berthold, Caillin Betts, Elizabeth Daniels, Vanessa Daniels, Aisha Herbert, Kiara Herbert, Lizzy Jackson, Grace Johnston, Rheanne Lamont Funtanilla, Nancy Li, Sam Miley, Emma Morton, Mary Neis, Marianne Pamilar, Carmel Rodrigues, Ishuveen Saini, Isabella Sharpe, Rhea Thomas, Stephanie Woo

Cello on ‘The Last Dive of David Shaw’ and ‘Challenger’
by Tim Mahony
Trumpet on ‘Challenger’ by Ellen Kirkwood

Artwork concept, illustration, design and layout
 by Matt Harvey.

The song themes are inspired by true stories throughout history and reference themes and information collected and researched from online sources. Individual sources listed on insert.

This record release was self-funded by We Lost The Sea.

This album is dedicated to the memory and music of Chris Torpy. Rest in peace, brother.


released July 30, 2015



all rights reserved


Bird's Robe Records Sydney, Australia

An independent label promoting innovative music - art rock, progressive, experimental, electronic, post, ambient, avant garde and otherwise expressive music.

contact / help

Contact Bird's Robe Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code