Moving Pieces Of The Sea

by The Crooked Fiddle Band

supported by
Judy Humphries
Judy Humphries thumbnail
Judy Humphries Fabulously original and wholly engaging; energetic, creative, genre-defying, timeless. Travel where you will with this and be whoever you want to be when you arrive.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $12 AUD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Come in a lovely CD digipack printed on recycled stock featuring full 6 panel artwork.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Moving Pieces Of The Sea via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $20 AUD or more 




Moving Pieces of the Sea is the second album by The Crooked Fiddle Band. Written on tour around the fjords of Norway and lakes of Finland, the album takes the band's reputation for intense, ecstatic energy and imbues it with a crystalline, cinematic expansiveness.

The album and opening track take their name from a letter by French ocean pioneer Jacques Cousteau to his son:

'Twilight was turning to sheer darkness, and our structures became eerie shadows. The fish were just moving pieces of the sea. I smiled because I would always seek after the vanishing shapes of a better world"
- Jaques Cousteau, 1963
released 01 October 2013
All tracks written by The Crooked Fiddle Band © 2013.

Jess Randall: violin, nyckelharpa, vocals.
Gordon Wallace: guitar, guizouki, cittern, vocals.
Mark Stevens: double bass, bass marimba on ‘Kilimanjaro’.
Joe Gould: Drum kit, udu, bass drum, kalimba, marimba, vocals.

Vocals on Track 2: Jess and Gordon
Vocals on Track 5: Joe
Vocals on Track 6: Gordon
Vocals on Track 7: Jess and Joe

Recorded to 24 track tape at Electrical Audio, Chicago, January 17-31, 2013.

Engineered and mixed by Steve Albini with additional recording by Greg Norman and Jon San Paolo @ Electrical Audio

Mastered by JJ Golden at Golden Mastering, California.

Russell Rolen: Cello on Tracks 1, 4, 5, 6 & 7.

Gordon plays Gilet Guitars, Fylde Citterns and Wheeler Custom Lutherie Guizoukis.
Jess’ nyckelharpa is made by Lennart Lovdin.

Cover art photo shoot:
Photography: Yanni Kronenberg
Miniatures Director: Jack McGrath/Conceptavision
Model: Leila Eqbal with arms by Emily Constantine, Laura Wilson and Mirabai Peart.
Make-up: Amanda Michelle Le Couteur
Photo Shoot helpers: Jack McGrath, Tawfik Elgazzar, Greg Le Couteur, Dave Carr, Sarah Steel and The Crooked Fiddle Band.

Model Makers: Jack McGrath, Tawfik Elgazzar, Greg Le Couteur, Dave Carr, Sarah Steel, Lynne Trunzo, Elizabeth Carr, Dan Stanley Freeman, Penny Coleman, Chris Hayden, Daisy De Windt, Vivien Jeffery and The Crooked Fiddle Band.

Graphic design : Cathy Kirkpatrick.


released September 30, 2013



all rights reserved


Bird's Robe Records Sydney, Australia

An independent label promoting innovative music - art rock, progressive, experimental, electronic, post, ambient, avant garde and otherwise expressive music.

contact / help

Contact Bird's Robe Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code